In response to the Haiti earthquake, Dade Paper, Miami, sent cleaning supplies and disposables to Port-au-Prince, and company employees donated funds, clothing, food and first aid supplies. The distributor also sponsored the Hugs 4 Haiti program, which delivers thousands of Teddy Bears to the children injured and orphaned by the earthquake. Dade Paper provided warehousing and transportation, delivering the bears to the weekly airlifts that flew volunteer medical personnel to Haiti.

WAXIE Sanitary Supply, San Diego, is celebrating its 65 Year Anniversary in the sanitary supply industry. The company's roots can be traced back to 1945 when Harry Wax purchased San Diego Janitor Supply. Six months later, younger brother Morris Wax joined the company.

Today, WAXIE is led by Morris Wax's oldest son, Charles, who joined the company in 1972 and serves as president and CEO.

Atlas Paper Mills, Miami, planted 25,000 longleaf pine trees in three Florida state forests: Indian Lake, Seminole and Cary.

SCA, Philadelphia, was featured in the 2010 Global 100 Most Sustainable Corporations in the World list. This is the sixth year the company has been recognized by Canadian Corporate Knights.

AFFLINK, Tuscaloosa, Ala., added four new members: Diversey, Sturtevant, Wis., Sealed Air, Elmwood Park, N.J., Prestige Restaurant Equipment and Paper, West Point, Pa., and JaniSafe Inc., Windsor, Ontario, Canada.

Atlanta-based Georgia-Pacific Professional and its enMotion brand of touchless dispensers received the Best Marketing Innovation of the Decade Award, presented by Georgia State University's Robinson College of Business and the Atlanta Business Chronicle.

More than 50 distributors attended Maumee, Ohio-based Spartan Chemical Co., Inc.'s Distributor Sales Seminars held in March and April. During the two and a half-day program, distributors learned how to help customers implement a green cleaning program and support sustainability initiatives.

Activant Solutions Inc., Yardley, Pa., and Element Payment Services Inc., Phoenix, announced an agreement through which Element will offer data security and ease PCI compliance for Activant customers using Activant Distribution Suite software.

Grainger, Chicago, named Superior Manufacturing Group, Chicago, as its 2009 Supplier of the Year.

Kimberly-Clark Corp., Roswell, Ga., was recognized as one of the "Best Corporate Citizens" by Corporate Responsibility Magazine, for the second consecutive year.

STOKO Skin Care, Greensboro, N.C., named six distributors as Distributor of the Year for 2009 in their respective regions: Able Paper & Janitorial Supplies, Merrillville, Ind.; GT French Paper Ltd., Hamilton, Ontario, Canada; Matera Paper Co., Ltd., San Antonio; Retailers Supply Co., Inc., New Albany, Ind.; Walter E. Nelson Co., Portland, Oregon; and Warehouse Direct Inc., Mount Prospect, Ill.




Sioux Corp., Beresford, S.D., promoted Meg Bucy to sales and marketing manager.

The O'Dell Corp., Ware Shoals, S.C., promoted Jerry Goldman to eastern region sales manager. He will be responsible for the 16 Eastern seaboard states as well as Alabama, Eastern Tennessee, Kentucky, West Virginia, Southern Indiana, Ohio and Michigan.

Betco Corp., Toledo, Ohio, promoted John Reed to director of sustainability and training. Reed will be responsible for creating, implementing and maintaining a comprehensive ecological program that serves the needs of Betco's customers.

Athea Laboratories and Athea Packaging, Milwaukee, hired Beau Walter as sales manager.

The company also recognized its 2009 Sales Reps of the Year: Dave Hehl of Northland Rep Group; Jerry Mitchell of Jerry Mitchell Associates; Tom Roos of SouthSan Sales & Marketing; John Underwood of Advantage Maintenance Products Ltd.; and Bruce Williams of Peach State Associates.

Avmor, Laval, Quebec, Canada, hired Dale Bonnett as territory manager foodservice division — Ontario.

Philadelphia-based SCA Tissue North America, promoted James Carmichael to vice president, human resources.

Newell Rubbermaid, Atlanta, elected Michael T. Cowhig as chairman of the company's board of directors, succeeding William D. Marohn, who served as chairman since 2004.