United States of America 50 states vector map isolated on black background. American separated red country silhouette illustration.

Just over two dozens states and some cities have adopted orders and requirements granting workers COVID-19 protections. As of Oct. 23, 14 states have made the changes, some via executive order, according to the National Employment Law Project.

States that have adopted such requirements include: California, Illinois, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia and Washington.

Some of those 14 states mandate that employers:

- Have a deep cleaning of the workplace conducted after a COVID-19 case has been discovered there.

- Notify workers when cases have been discovered at the workplace.

- Uphold social distancing of six feet or more between employees, their coworkers and customers. If that distancing cannot be upheld all the time, face coverings must be provided.

- Provide personal protective equipment in addition to face coverings.

- Give employees the ability to consistently wash their hands with soap and water.

- Make hand sanitizer accessible to workers.

Who exactly enforces the requirements differs from state to state. For example, Michigan, Nevada and Oregon use their occupational safety and health organizations to enforce the regulations.

Philadelphia became the first city to impose an ordinance protecting workers who choose to voice their concerns regarding their safety as it relates to COVID-19 or decide not to come to work because of unsafe conditions pertaining to the virus.

Click here to access a list compiled by the National Employment Law Project of online resources the 14 aforementioned states have provided.