ISSA Hygieia Network Announces 2017 Award Winners

The ISSA Hygieia Network (IHN), a non-profit association dedicated to the advancement and retention of cleaning industry women, announced the winners of its third annual ISSA Hygieia Network Awards. The Awards ceremony was held at the Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas on September 12, during ISSA/INTERCLEAN North America.

“The ISSA Hygieia Network Awards recognize individuals and organizations that have made extraordinary contributions to the global cleaning industry,” said Ilham Kadri, chair of the ISSA Hygieia Network and president and CEO of Diversey. “This year’s winners went above and beyond our expectations, making it a truly heartwarming ceremony. We look forward to continuing our efforts in eliminating gender discrimination and supporting the professional goals of industry women.”

The Hygieia Member of the Year Award, which recognizes a member who has made an outstanding contribution to the cleaning industry, was awarded to Michelle Mercer, senior director business development supply chain, Aramark, for her work in promoting women in the workforce and within outside organizations.

The Rising Star of the Year Award, open to women aged 35 and under who have demonstrated their commitment to further the ideals and objectives of the ISSA Hygieia Network, was awarded to Michelle Munvez, vice president, Chemcraft.

The Man of the Year Award, open to a senior-level man who is dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in the cleaning industry, was presented to Mark Oldaker, vice president of operations & finance – commercial cleaning, Midwest Maintenance.

The Employer of the Year Award was awarded to Earth Friendly Products for promoting women in the organization and building a community of mentorship and support that has led to a dramatic increase of women in leadership positions in the company.

The Eidyia Award, which recognizes companies or individuals leading efforts to reduce illiteracy rates within the cleaning industry’s workforce, was presented to Professional Janitor Services of Houston.

During the ceremony, a Special Honors Award was presented to Hao Dang Tanascos, president, HAOskeeping Inc., for her dedication to diversity and inclusion within the industry.

The judging panel included Gayle Capozzalo, executive vice president/chief strategy officer, Yale New Haven Health; Lynn Frankenfield, executive director, Cleaning for a Reason; Michelle Marshall, editor, European Cleaning Journal; Renee Starr, vice president - strategic and national accounts, Essendant; Jeff Tafel, executive director, IFMA Foundation; and Dan Weltin, editor-in-chief, Sanitary Maintenance and Contracting Profits magazines.

During the ceremony, the IHN launched its new book, “Invisible Heroes,” which includes inspirational stories from 23 incredible women (and one man) within the cleaning industry.