attack of bacteria

The Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) announced the recipients of the Heroes of Infection Prevention Award, which honors infection preventionists who have successfully helped to reduce infection, raise awareness, and improve the health and well-being of patients, healthcare workers, and the public.

Recipients were recognized during APIC's 46th Annual Conference, June 12–14, in Philadelphia, PA. The following individuals and teams were recognized:

Nkwan Jacob Gobte, BSN, MPH
Baptist Training School for Health Personnel (BTSHP)
Kumbo, Cameroon
Category: Advocacy and Influence

JoAnn Adkins, BSN, RN, CIC, FAPIC & Terri Lee Roberts, BSN, RN, CIC, FAPIC
Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority
Harrisburg, PA
Category: Education

Jayme Townson, RN
University Hospital Cleveland Medical Center
Cleveland, OH
Category: Patient Safety

Teresa Daniels, MSN, RN, CIC, CPPS, T-CHEST
Clark Regional Medical Center & Bourbon Community Hospital
Winchester, KY
Category: Process and Systems Improvement

Infection Prevention UF Health Jacksonville
Jacksonville, FL
Category: Process and Systems Improvement

Kelly Romano, BS, MPH, CIC
Einstein Medical Center Montgomery
East Norriton, PA
Category: Program Development

APIC established the Heroes of Infection Prevention Award in 2006 to recognize infection preventionists who have developed and implemented innovative infection prevention programs. More than 100 individuals and groups have been recognized to date for their exceptional work in reducing healthcare-associated infections. The Heroes program is supported by a grant from BD, an APIC Strategic Partner.