Women accepting award

The Environmental Media Association presented the first solo female recipient of the Corporate Responsibility Award to Earth Friendly Products President and CEO Kelly Vlahakis-Hanks. 

The award was presented at a star-studded EMA Honors Gala, which acknowledged globally recognized trailblazers and icons for their tireless work to protect the planet including Vlahakis-Hanks, Diane Warren (EMA Missions in Music Award), Jonathan Safran Foer (EMA Literary Impact Award), and more. 

Past recipients of the EMA Corporate Responsibility Award include Elon Musk, Sir Richard Branson and Alan Fuerstman. As the president and CEO of Earth Friendly Products, Vlahakis-Hanks is dedicated to making products including ECOS Laundry Detergent and over 200 other environmentally friendly products that are safer for people, pets and the planet.  

EMA honored Vlahakis-Hanks for her highly effective leadership and influential voice in the green movement and in corporate social responsibility. Under her leadership, Earth Friendly Products achieved carbon neutrality at all four of its manufacturing facilities in 2013 through a series of major sustainability initiatives, including the switch to 100 percent renewable electricity. 

“I’m honored to be the first sole female recipient of EMA’s Corporate Responsibility Award,” says Vlahakis-Hanks. “Being recognized amongst the planet’s environmental trailblazers is incredibly humbling. I am proud to be able to make sustainable strides on behalf of Earth Friendly Products and our customers. Every day, we aim to make the planet a little greener.”

For 29 years, EMA has honored the most influential green leaders in entertainment, technology, and business, showcasing individuals who are consistently advocating for our planet. Past EMA Honors recipients include notable names like Michael Bloomberg, Jane Fonda, Matt Damon, Elizabeth Olsen, Natalie Portman, Jaden Smith and Justin Timberlake.