Mother walking hand by hand with several very young elementary school children wearing backpacks

The U.S. Department of Education today announced the 2020 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools, District Sustainability Awardees, and Postsecondary Sustainability Awardees, who have been selected for special recognition based on their commitment to healthy, safe, and sustainable learning environments.

Across the country, 39 schools, 11 districts, and five postsecondary institutions are being honored for their innovative efforts to address the three "Pillars" of the program: reducing environmental impact and utility costs, improving health and wellness and ensuring effective sustainability education.

A state education official, Elizabeth Schmitz, environmental and sustainability education program supervisor at the Washington Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction, is also being recognized for her efforts to advance school sustainability.

"I want to congratulate this year's U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon School honorees for a job well done," says U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos. "During this unprecedented time, it's a pleasure to celebrate these bright spots of creativity and to applaud the teachers and local education leaders who have worked to create healthy, sustainable and innovative learning environments for their students."

The honorees were named from a pool of candidates nominated by 27 states. The selectees include 28 public schools – among them, three magnet schools and four charter schools – as well as 11 nonpublic schools. Forty-five percent of the 2020 honorees serve a disadvantaged student body.

Following is the list of 2020 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools, District Sustainability Award, and Postsecondary Sustainability Award honorees.


Magnolia Nature School at Camp McDowell, Nauvoo


Creston Elementary School, Creston

Edison Elementary School, Alameda

Anderson W. Clark Magnet High School, La Crescenta

Woodside Priory School, Portola Valley

Carmel Unified School District, Carmel


Aspen Prep Academy, Greenwood Village


Middlebrook Middle School, Wilton


Odyssey Charter School, Wilmington

Ursuline Academy, Wilmington


Highland Elementary School, Lake Worth

Martin County School District, Stuart


Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw


SEEQS: The School for Examining Essential Questions of Sustainability, Honolulu


Joseph Sears School, Kenilworth

College of Lake County, Grayslake


Hamilton Southeastern School Corporation, Fishers


Redwood Cooperative School, Lexington

Fayette County Public Schools, Lexington


Mount Desert Island High School, Bar Harbor

Camden Hills Regional High School, Rockport


Oakland Terrace Elementary School, Silver Spring

Wellwood International School, Baltimore


School of Engineering and Arts, Golden Valley


Sunrise School, DeSoto

Mary Institute and St. Louis Country Day School, St. Louis

Parkway School District, Chesterfield


Mickle Middle School, Lincoln

Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart, Omaha

Bayard Public Schools, Bayard


Truckee Meadows Community College, Reno

New Jersey

Cape May City Elementary School, Cape May

Readington Middle School, Whitehouse Station

New Mexico

Coyote Willow Family School, Albuquerque

North Carolina

Lincoln Heights Environmental Connections Magnet Elementary School, Fuquay-Varina

Millbrook Environmental Connections Magnet Elementary School, Raleigh

Walker-Spivey Elementary School, Fayetteville


Gwynedd-Mercy Academy Elementary School, Spring House

Rhode Island

The Grace School at Meeting Street, Providence

South Carolina

Cape Romain Environmental Education Charter School, McClellanville

Furman University, Greenville


Bonneville Elementary School, Salt Lake City

Wasatch Academy, Mount Pleasant


Ocean View Elementary School, Norfolk

Rappahannock County Public Schools, Washington


Carl Sandburg Elementary/Discovery Community School, Kirkland

Montessori Children's House, Redmond

Pullman Public Schools, Pullman

Seattle Public Schools, Seattle

Wahluke Public Schools, Mattawa

(Director's Award) Elizabeth Schmitz, Environmental and Sustainability Program Director, OSPI


Lincoln Avenue School, Milwaukee

McDill Elementary School, Stevens Point

Indian Community School, Milwaukee

School District of Bayfield, Bayfield

University of Wisconsin - Whitewater, Whitewater