Another State Sees Its Minimum Wage Rise
The minimum wage most people must be paid in Virginia rose roughly 27 percent over the weekend to $9.50 an hour, reports the Associated Press.
The pay hike from the federally mandated $7.25 minimum was brought about by a law the commonwealth passed in 2020. That change does not impact those under the age of 16 or people under the age of 18 who are still in school full-time and work less than 20 hours a week.
The financial boost to most of the commonwealth's minimum wage earners won't stay at $9.50 an hour for long, as it increases to $11 an hour in January 2022. It will again rise to $12 an hour later in 2022. The wage could increase to $13.50 an hour and eventually $15 an hour in 2026, if the Virginia's legislature votes to do so.
Disclaimer: Please note that Facebook comments are posted through Facebook and cannot be approved, edited or declined by CleanLink.com. The opinions expressed in Facebook comments do not necessarily reflect those of CleanLink.com or its staff. To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the Conversation Guidelines.