vector image of a graduation cap and coins to depict a scholarship

ASHRAE has announced the recipients of 30 Society scholarships, totaling $167,000, for the 2020-21 academic year.

 “We are extremely proud of the 2020-21 ASHRAE Scholarship recipients,” said Michel Hayek, chair of the ASHRAE scholarship trustees, in a press release. “These individuals represent the future of the HVAC&R industry and ASHRAE is pleased to support this bright future by providing scholarship opportunities to students each year.”

The following awards provide a $10,000 scholarship:

Willis H. Carrier Scholarships

Kylene Landenberger, mechanical engineering, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo and Molly Sizemore, architectural engineering, Pennsylvania State University, are the recipients of a Willis H. Carrier Scholarship established by the Carrier Corp. in memory of its founder, who installed the world’s first scientifically designed air-conditioning system.

Reuben Trane Scholarships

William Welch, mechanical engineering, University of California – Los Angeles; Owen Lutz, architectural engineering, Kansas State University and Alexis Sheeto, architectural engineering, Pennsylvania State University are the recipients of a Reuben Trane Scholarship which is to be awarded over two years and was established by the Trane Co. in memory its founder, an innovative engineer, inventor and business executive, who held 28 patents.

Gordon V.R. Holness Engineering Scholarship

Haley Webbert, mechanical engineering, University of Nevada – Reno, is the recipient of the Gordon V.R. Holness Engineering Scholarship named in honor of ASHRAE Presidential Member Holness, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, who served as the Society’s president in 2009-10.

Gordon V.R. Holness Engineering Technology Scholarship

Andrew Scott, architectural engineering technology, Vermont Technical College, is the recipient of the Gordon V.R. Holness Engineering Technology Scholarship.

For the the complete list of scholarship winners, click here.

Applications are now being accepted for the 2021-22 undergraduate engineering, technology, regional/chapter, and university-specific scholarships. The application deadline is Dec. 1, 2020.