Responsibility Medicine Work Concept

Ten health care facilities have earned the 2023 Sustainability Champion Award for demonstrating strong leadership in becoming more sustainable facilities and using saved resources to support patient care. The American Society for Health Care Engineering (ASHE) of the American Hospital Association will recognize these facilities — alongside more than a hundred other hospitals that have earned an Energy to Care Award for lowering energy use and accomplishing sustainability goals — at its Annual Conference and Technical Exhibition, Aug. 6-9 in San Antonio:

• Ascension NE Wisconsin – Mercy Campus

• Ascension Seton Medical Center Williamson Hospital

• Ascension St. Vincent Fishers Hospital

• Ascension St. Vincent Warrick

• Ascension St. Vincent's Medical Center Clay County Hospital

• Atrium Health Lincoln

• Atrium Health Mercy

• Atrium Health Union

• Aurora Medical Center – Oshkosh

• Parkland Health – Main Campus

Participation in the Energy to Care Program has seen consistent growth since its inception in 2006. More than 4,000 facilities have participated since 2010, and in the entire life of the program, health care facilities have seen a combined savings of over $550 million dollars reallocated to patient care.

The program also recognizes past Energy to Care Award winners who have continued to accomplish sustainability goals with the Sustained Performance Award, which was introduced in 2022. ASHE congratulates these facilities for further reducing or maintaining reduced emissions:

• AtlantiCare Regional Medical Center – Atlantic City Campus

• AtlantiCare Regional Medical Center – Mainland Campus

• Atrium Health Cabarrus

• Atrium Health Cleveland

• Atrium Health Floyd Medical Center

• Atrium Health Kings Mountain

• Atrium Health Lincoln

• Atrium Health Mercy

• Atrium Health Pineville

• Atrium Health Polk Medical Center

• Atrium Health Stanly

• Atrium Health Union

• Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center

• Atrium Health Wilkes Regional Medical Center

• Aurora Lakeland Medical Center

• Aurora Medical Center – Grafton

• Aurora Medical Center – Burlington

• Aurora Medical Center – Manitowoc County

• Aurora Medical Center – Oshkosh

• Aurora St. Luke's South Shore

• Geisinger Grays Woods

• Geisinger Justin Drive 2

• Geisinger Healthplex Woodbine

• Geisinger Wyoming Valley Medical Center

• Memorial Hermann Greater Heights Hospital

• Memorial Hermann Katy Hospital

• Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center

• Memorial Hermann Northeast Hospital

• Memorial Hermann Heart & Vascular Institute at Southwest

• Memorial Hermann Southwest Hospital

• Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Medical Center

ASHE congratulates these Sustainability Champion and Sustained Performance awardees and all the hospitals that earned an Energy to Care Award. View all the 2023 Energy to Care Award Winners here.