The BSCAI CLEAN Awards demonstrate the best in excellence among different BSCs and categories. From new members to business leadership, all forms of distinction are recognized.

The BSCAI CLEAN Awards have gone digital! Visit to participate. Nominations will open April 3, 2017, and the deadline to submit an entry is June 30, 2017.

BSCAI Awards Include:

New in 2017: BSCAI Cleaning for Health Award

The purpose of the Cleaning for Health Award is to recognize BSCAI building service contractors that have Cleaning for Health programs. Cleaning for Health is a cleaning regimen that helps reduce the levels of allergens and asthma triggers in the indoor environment. A Cleaning for Health program consists of policies, procedures and training that emphasizes the impact on the health of building occupants and staff. It includes equipment that reduces building contaminants and minimizes environmental impact.

New Member of the Year Award

BSCAI will recognize a new member company who has exhibited active participation in BSCAI through their committee involvement, event attendance, participation in the certification program, regional event attendance and an overall positive impact on BSCAI.
James E. Purcell Leadership Award

The James E. Purcell Leadership Award is the most prestigious award presented each year by BSCAI. It is given in recognition of long-term service to both the association and the building service contracting industry. James E. Purcell was BSCAI’s founder and first president serving from 1965-1967. The previous year’s BSCAI president will be honored with this award at the Annual Convention.
Walter L. Cook Award for Distinguished Service

The Walter L. Cook Award for Distinguished Service is presented to the BSCAI member who has made outstanding contributions in furthering the programs and image of the association and the building service contracting industry. Current members of the BSCAI board of directors are not eligible to receive this award. Nominees are submitted to the BSCAI Awards Committee and to the BSCAI board of directors for selection and approval.

Arthur C. Barraclough Company Community Service Award

This award recognizes companies for their volunteer effort for charities and the community. The winner will receive a crystal award that can be prominently displayed in their lobby, and BSCAI will make a cash donation to a charity of the winner’s choice.

Building Service Employee of the Year Award

The Building Service Employee of the Year Award honors that building service contracting employee whose job performance, civic involvement and family role best exemplify qualities found in superior custodial employees. The Building Service Employee of the Year Award winner will be invited to receive the award at the convention’s opening general session. The winner of the award will also receive a round-trip coach airfare to the convention, $1,000, a handsome plaque and a medallion.

Industry Service Awards

Safety Awards

As part of BSCAI’s ongoing effort to promote safety throughout the association and industry, BSCAI invites entries for its Safety Awards Competition. As in previous years, BSCAI’s Safety Awards will be given to the companies with the best safety records, and plaques will be presented to winners at the Annual Convention.

Image Awards

BSCAI recognizes companies that have excelled in enhancing the image of their businesses. Winners receive a plaque presented at the Annual Convention and winning entries will be displayed at the convention. This competition will recognize one winner in each of the three size categories as the industry’s best in overall “company image.” Winners will be chosen from any of the following categories:
• Marketing Piece
• Employee Newsletter
• Company Uniform
• Promotional Item
• Social Media Campaign
• Company Website