The United Group, Monroe, La., honored the group’s top business performers for 2008 at its 2009 National Conference May 6-9 at the Gaylord National, near Washington, D.C.  As the capstone of the conference, Riverside Paper Supply Co., Newport News, Va., Jerry Hill, president, and J.P. Hill, vice president/sales manager, received the Member of the Year award.  Dart Container Corp., represented by Joseph Iacona and Jason Geck, took home the Supplier of the Year award.

The United Group bases awards on the number and amount of purchases by the distributor members from the suppliers, the number and amount of sales by the suppliers to the members, and the percent of growth of each company’s transactions carried out under the auspices of the group during the previous year.  The system assures a company of any size can win an award through performance.

Attendance at the group’s 2009 conference was higher than in any other year in the group’s 25-year history.  “I am cognizant of the Preferred Suppliers’ enthusiasm about the Member Stockholders supporting them and the members’ willingness to work with the suppliers by attending the table-top meetings during the conference,” notes Tobie F. McKown, TUG’s president and CEO.

The United Group is a national marketing-and-sales organization created in 1983 and now comprised of and owned by over 350 distributors of Janitorial/Sanitary, Foodservice, Industrial-Packaging, and Safety products.  The distributor members, who are equal stockholders and direct the group through their elected representatives, purchase from more than 150 selected suppliers, and then receive marketing allowances on the purchases.