The International Executive Housekeepers Association (I.E.H.A.) announced the winners of the three top association awards during a banquet held Thursday, October 5, at the Holiday Inn-Mart Plaza, Chicago, IL. The Association congratulates:

Ken Walvoord, C.E.H., recipient of the Margaret Barnes Diamond Award. The Association’s most esteemed award, established in 1988, recognizes a member who has made an outstanding contribution to housekeeping, along with the Association and its advancement. As the Director of Custodial Services at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Walvoord has served in a variety of positions throughout the Association. For more than 30 years, he has had a passion for producing quality Facilities Leadership Seminars for professional advancement in the Midwest area.

Stephen Ashkin, recipient of the William D. Joyner Achievement Award. This award, established in the name of the late William D. Joyner, recognizes an individual who has helped grow the organization and has contributed research, technical assistance, articles, and written books or guidelines. Ashkin, president of The Ashkin Group, LLC, contributes monthly articles to Executive Housekeeping Today magazine under the department “A Green Thought.” He recently received a 2006 Excellence Award from U.S. EPA , and has contributed chapters to two books, published over 200 magazine articles, made over 350 presentations, and trained over ten thousand people on the subject of Green Cleaning.

William D. Jones, Sr., recipient of the Honorary Membership Award. This award is given to a member of I.E.H.A. who has shown significant dedication and service to the Association for many years. Jones has held various positions throughout all levels of the Association. In 1992, he was elected as the first male national secretary. For this nomination, Jones will receive a complimentary lifetime membership to I.E.H.A.